June 3rd, 2014 | Tuesday

Right now I am sitting in the Dubai International Airport terminal 1 gate C21.  This airport was not any easier to navigate than the first time.  The shuttle ride to get to the next terminal took 30 minutes alone! This place is huge.  Texting my mom she asked me what was different about traveling now that I’ve already been in Oman.  Aside from this trip and my big abroad trip I took in 2012, I’ve only actually been on a plane 3 times.  So I was very very anxious on my way over here.  Its weird how comfortable I feel now and open to conversation with the people I’ve met after being in Muscat.  I don’t feel intimidated like before.

Before this trip, I was on the rocks about my choice in major and focus with International Relations and Middle Eastern Studies.  This trip has not only confirmed my choice, but has gotten me excited! I can not wait to begin Arabic this fall.  The thought of being able to have a conversation with Saleh and Yaqoob completely fluent in arabic sounds pretty awesome.  My last night in Oman consisted of going out to eat with Tara and Marlin and ending the evening at the one and only club Safari.  A lot of Tara’s friends don’t understand why she enjoys going so much, but I get it now.  Her and her husband have made some amazing Omani friends that are no questions asked there every thursday night.  Surprisingly they were there last night(which was a monday night).By the way, Tuesday is a work day. Safari is a bar/club. Wut….Don’t get me wrong, I couldn’t have been happier to see them there before I leave, but I was surprised to see them there!  We drank beer, laughed, and talked about the next time I was coming to Oman.  Everyone tells me this is a once in a lifetime experience, but for me it’s not.  I plan to have plenty more of these experiences with these same people.  I have made a lot of friends and built relationships with people that are thousands of miles away from my home and I can not wait to return.  Yaqoob even introduced me to an Omani family that would love to have me stay with them, so that I could learn arabic the next time I visit. Vita, Viktor and Jessica I hope to see you next summer.  Vita thank you for being awesome. Jessica, thank you for introducing me to the locals and taking me to the sinkhole. Viktor, thank you for offering me a spot in your house, if the Raney’s move elsewhere.  Mike and Pink thanks for all the drinks that I wasn’t supposed to have.  Monica and John, your children are the sweetest little boys I’ve ever met and I hope you’re finally settled into The Wave. Tara and Marlin, thank you for welcoming me into your home like one of your own. I love and miss you already! See you in July 🙂 To everyone else that I had the pleasure of meeting, you were all wonderful, kind people that I hope to see again in the near future. Ma’a salama!!! (Goodbye)

“You will never be completely at home again, because part of your heart always will be elsewhere. That is the price you pay for the richness of loving and knowing people in more than one place.” -Miriam Adeney

J

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

