I’d like to say that when I originally planned to blog about my trip, I thought I would be giving you iteniraries of my activities, the cool places I’ve been to, posting pictures of everything, etc but it’s become more of a reflection of what I’m learning about myself and my experiences. 

Over the weekend, Jessica and I had a conversation with a few Moroccan friends of ours and we asked them how they felt about their country being a Muslim country. One of them said that it makes it easier in order for them to follow their religion in terms of being a true Muslim. Laws and regulations to fulfill their true divine way to live logically. They expressed that because they are all brothers of Islam, that their community is rich with commonalities of loving one another and doing good. 

A question I have, is how does a non-Muslim fit into the equation? A culture so pure and consistent with one another, is their room for diversity? I was warned of culture shock before coming here, but nothing prepares you. I’m still adjusting, although the people are wonderful and full of love, but our normalities differ. 

I wrote that when I was uneasy about being here and away from what is comfortable back home, but after expressing it to some of my family and friends I was reminded that I’m not here in Morocco to feel a sense of belonging. I’m here to observe, learn, and build relationships with the people of Meknes. 

๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธBless the United States of America and our freedom of speech. Our Founding Fathers were genius and I don’t think I ever truly appreciated it until now. With our constitution, we have so much room for growth of ideas, perspectives, cultures, religions, and people. 

Because we live in a country with so much room to grow, we should have a better understanding of one another and not the opposite. But maybe that’s the issue, we don’t understand these particular values and we are trying so hard to when what we really need to do is respect one another and our differences. 

That is one thing I’ve learned thus far from this Islamic society. They have carried out this sense of community and spirit with one another that I really admire. Their traditions that are apart of their identity mean so much to who they are. 

We don’t have to agree, but we should respect one another. 

  
  
Jamie

Leave a Reply

