There was a time ago in my life

I hated men and all that might 

Love was wrong and so was I 

I thought I’d live and then just die

I was lost and misunderstood

Caught up in my own

Where was my neighborhood

My village was empty 

My friends weren’t there 

I was all alone with no one who cared 

But then I did something crazy

I found love I think so, maybe

I found myself and treated her well

I told her she was beautiful all alone

That she was strong and full of this love

Who knew self help was all that was 

No one fixed me from above

Maybe that’s it, it was God’s strength

The universe telling me what’s at stake

To live and not just die

But to experience, love, be sad, and cry 

I felt incredible all on my own

I did it, I held my ground 

I played myself a little lost and found 
  
When I was 15, I used to write poetry as an outlet and for some reason I quit until now. I’m 21 and in another country trying it again.

Leave a Reply

