I received the holy grail of all care packages yesterday from my mom. Being here in Morocco, you’d be surprised to find a plethora of dates, olives, vegetables, coffee, meat, and bread. A lot of bread…but finding coconut oil has been nearly impossible. 

Although I’ve already been here for a month, and there are many things that I’ve done without. 

And I’ve been just fine. 

Today, our Arabic professor began to talk about the importance of “to be” versus “to have.” He then started with a simple story that was turned into a huge philosophical explanation to what we lack. 

His story was about two people who see a flower. The first girl sees it and recognizes it’s beauty and it makes her happy, and the next girl sees the flower and goes to pick it. Ultimately, we are focusing on what one has to look like, or has to feel like, etc when really we just to need be. I’m telling you about this because Jess and I keep talking about our rooms full of random things that are back home. Material things that we think we need to have to live comfortably. 

I guess what I’m trying to say is I’m happy. Really happy just being.

 Being here with Jess. Being here with Fouzia, Omar, and Soufiane. Being here sharing all of our experiences and good conversations. Morocco is good for my soul and I’m glad that I get to grow without having for a while. 

 

  
Jamie

“I am not this hair, I am not this skin, I am the soul that lives within.” -Rumi  

Leave a Reply

