There was a green monster under my bed

I told him to leave and get out of my head

He said she was better, smarter, and pretty

He made me sad, and full of self-pity 

I was ashamed of myself, can you not see

How could he know me, better than me

He said she was sweet, each every time after

I sat down and cried only with laughter 

Happier than her, it got harder to breath

I put on a smile, but I wanted to leave 

My anger was faulty, but I made it hers

Who was at fault, this monster, this curse

This poison, this fear, this angry green guy

I told him to leave, be gone, and just die

At last I said this was enough! 

I told you green monster you can not stay! 

This envy, this fear, you must go away 

I am myself, happy, and free

I told you green monster, JUST LET ME BE

________________________________________________

My little sister says that you write after the fact because when you are feeling it, you’re too busy experiencing it. In Morocco, I have the time to listen to my thoughts because back home life is fast. With working 30 hours a week and going to school full time, I never made time to write. 
So here are some words that we’ve all felt before. 

Jamie

Leave a Reply

